top of page

An Introduction to the 7 Chakras

The chakras are 7 energy centers located along the spine. By balancing the energies of our 7 chakras we can bring our body and soul into alignment to lead a blissful life.

You may have heard of the 7 chakras in yoga, meditation, or other spiritual work. Whatever the case may be, you are now asking a question that has the potential to completely change your life. What are the chakras? This introduction to the 7 chakras will answer exactly that.

The chakras are 7 energy centers located along the spine which collectively make up an individual's auric energy field.

The Aura: the Human Energy Field

The aura is an individual's unique energy field. It is the vital life force one contributes towards the total universal energy. Chi ( in Chinese culture), prana (in Hinduism), and divine love are all different names for this universal energy. Each name is used to describe the sum of all energies collectively being contributed to the universe of which everything and everyone in the cosmos is a part of.


The aura is perceived to look like a swirling mix of rainbow light surrounding the body. Your primary aura color reveals your most active chakra including information about your personality, strengths, weaknesses, life themes, and more. The spirit within us radiates pure, clean white light. Individuals who have reached enlightenment will have an aura of white light; their self and spirit are in full alignment. In Christianity this white light is portrayed as a halo.

White light contains all wavelengths of visible light. Similarly, each of the 7 chakras which make up an individuals aura, correspond to one of the seven colors in the rainbow. In this introduction to the 7 chakras, you will learn what colors, characteristics, and universal energies correspond to each of the 7 chakras.

In Buddhism, it is taught that enlightenment is reached when energy is flowing freely through each of the 7 chakras.

An Overview of the 7 Chakras

Each of the 7 chakras is connected to a specific energy's wavelength, just like visible light, and is channeled through a physical part of the body. All energies in the universe within a chakra's wavelength interval can be sensed through our sympathetic nervous system. By working with the chakra's associated body parts, we can feel and connect to everything in the universe.

Chakra overview table

When an energy center’s frequency is too low, the chakra is underactive. When an energy center’s frequency is too high, the chakra is overactive.

Misbalance occurs in a chakra due to excessive exposure to or the channeling of negative energy within its wavelength interval. Excessive or prolonged amounts of negative energy within a chakra's field can manifest into "dis-ease" in the physical body.

By working with the 7 chakras, you will begin to "innerstand" how and why the universe works as well as what your role is in it. You only need to look inside yourself and clear out any negative energies that are blocking you from deeply connecting with the universal energy to come into a state of complete consciousness and lead a blissful balanced life.

Chakra Overview Table

The Physical Chakras: Root, Sacral, & Solar Plexus

The lowest three chakras are our physical chakras, helping to navigate our sacred bodies through the physical world.

MULADHARA: the Root Chakra

The first chakra is our root chakra or base chakra. The Sanskrit name for it is Muladhara, which translates from two Sanskrit words: mul, meaning "base", and adhara, meaning "foundation". The root chakra is the foundation of your energy body. When in balance you will feel safe, secure, purified, & grounded. When practicing chakra balancing it is important to start at the lowest chakra that requires balancing, otherwise our whole energy system may be misaligned from our true purpose of being here on earth.

SVADHISTHANA: the Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is our sacral chakra. The Sanskrit name for it is Svadhisthana, which translates to "the dwelling place of the self”. The sacral chakra is revealed in how you express yourself in the physical world and the ability to go with the flow. It is closely related to your creativity and sexuality. When in balance you will be expressive, nurturing, creative, passionate, emotionally stable and able to 'feel'.

MANIPURA: the Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is our solar plexus chakra. The Sanskrit name for it is Manipura, which translates from two Sanskrit words: mani, meaning "gem", and puri meaning "city”, roughly translating to "the city of jewels". The solar plexus provides our life-force energy, creating a personal power center within us. This chakra is where self awareness meets willpower. When in balance you will be reliable, strong willed, powerful, courageous, and all without dominating others. There should be no ego to protect in a balanced solar plexus chakra.

Intersection of Physical & Spiritual Chakras

ANAHATA: the Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is our heart chakra. The Sanskrit name for it is Anahata, which translates to "unstruck", coming from the proverb "the sound of the unstruck bell". Our heart is where the physical and spiritual chakras intersect, where self and spirit are one. By listening to the heart, we have the grand capacity to anticipate what we need even before we 'need' it, to hear the sound of the unstruck bell. The heart chakra, unlike the lower 3 chakras, is infinite because the soul resides here, making it possible for humans to give and receive unconditional love. When the heart chakra is in balance you will be trusting, compassionate, loving, forgiving, grateful, and giving.

The Spiritual Chakras: Throat, Third-Eye, & Crown

The higher chakras (5th, 6th, & 7th) are our spiritual chakras. When these chakras are active & balanced an individual may seem to have unique abilities such as being psychic, telepathic, or clairvoyant. Since energy in these chakras have the shortest wavelengths, they require more attention to tap into. When we give extra energy to the lower physical chakras, it becomes exceedingly difficult to tap into these energies at all. However, by balancing the lower chakras, we reveal our higher self, aka our spirit.

VISHUDDHA: the Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is our throat chakra. The Sanskrit name for it is Vishuddha, which translates from two Sanskrit words: vi, meaning "especially", and shuddhi meaning "pure”. The throat chakra is all about communication. When we communicate from our highest sense of truth, we cleanse our psyche on a physical and mental level. Truth is purifying. When the throat chakra is in balance you will be truthful, calm, a good listener, an effective communicator, helpful, and influential.

AJNA: the Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is our third eye chakra. The Sanskrit name for it is Ajna, which translates to "command center”. When the third eye chakra is active and balanced, we are aware and accepting of our soul. Here, spirit feeds information to our self. The ability to hear these commands is our intuition. In order to come into full spiritual alignment, you must honor your command center, even when intuition does not pass the judgement of your logical mind. When this chakra is in balance you will have a sense of clarity, intuition, imagination, & access to higher guidance & wisdom.

SAHASRARA: the Crown Chakra

Last but not least, the seventh chakra is our crown chakra. The Sanskrit name for it is Sahasrara, which translates to "thousand” coming from the proverb "lotus of the thousand petals". When this chakra is in balance you will feel connected to everyone and everything in this universe, recognizing your role in the divine whole and feeling connected to source. The crown chakra, located at the top of the head and opening upward, is our conscious mind linking to universal consciousness.

1,081 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page